Grace Jones, Jamie Principle Guest on Gorillaz’s ‘Humanz’


Dance-music legend Grace Jones and Chicago house vocalist Jamie Principle are among a coterie of guests featured on Gorillaz’s forthcoming full-length, Humanz, set for release on April 28.

Jones, who is famous for hits like “Pull Up to the Bumper” and “Slave to the Rhythm,”  appears on “Charger” while Principle, of “Your Love” fame,” fronts “Sex Murder Party” with NYC rapper Zebra Katz.

Also notable to Big Shot readers is that Peven Everett — whose body of work includes his “Gabriel” collaboration with Roy Davis, Jr. — appears on “Strobelite” and deluxe-edition cut “Halfway To The Halfway House.”

Humanz is laden with collaborations with Jehnny Beth (Savages), Danny Brown, Benjamin Clementine, De La Soul, D.R.A.M., Anthony Hamilton, Kelela, Mavis Staples, Vince Staples, Popcaan, Pusha T, Jamie Principle and Kali Uchis. (See full track list below.)

The virtual band created by Damon Albarn and Jamie Hewlett just dropped a 360-degree video for “Saturnz Barz (Spirit House)” which you can watch below.

Track listing for Humanz:

  1. Ascension feat. Vince Staples
  2. Strobelite feat. Peven Everett
  3. Saturnz Barz feat. Popcaan
  4. Momentz feat. De La Soul
  5. Submission feat. Danny Brown & Kelela
  6. Charger feat. Grace Jones
  7. Andromeda feat. D.R.A.M.
  8. Busted and Blue
  9. Carnival feat. Anthony Hamilton
  10. Let Me Out feat. Mavis Staples & Pusha T
  11. Sex Murder Party feat. Jamie Principle & Zebra Katz
  12. She’s My Collar feat. Kali Uchis
  13. Hallelujah Money feat. Benjamin Clementine
  14. We Got The Power feat. Jehnny Beth

Bonus material on Deluxe:

  1. The Apprentice feat. Rag’n’ Bone Man, Zebra Katz & RAY BLK
  2. Halfway To The Halfway House feat. Peven Everett
  3. Out Of Body feat. Kilo Kish, Zebra Katz & Imani Vonshà
  4. Ticker Tape feat. Carly Simon & Kali Uchis
  5. Circle Of Friendz feat. Brandon Markell Holmes

Yehouda Silverman

Add a Comment