2017 Rewind: Soul Clap

soul clap

How was 2017 for you?
Eli Goldstein: It took so much energy to stay positive in 2017 with all the crazy political shit in the US and violence around the world. But we managed to keep pushing forward with the funk.

Our biggest highlight was playing live with an eight-piece band including Amp Fiddler, Hazmat, The Dames Brown and Phil Celeste on the main stage at Movement Detroit. And we had lots and lots of touring to amazing places, meeting new amazing people! The Michael The Lion EP that we released on Soul Clap Records was a big highlight for our label.

The hate, racism, injustice and negativity dominating the U.S. All the horrible laws and policies that our so-called president and the Republican party pushed through.

Song of the year?
It’s an album … Lord Echo’s Harmonies

What’s your New Year’s resolution?
To make the world a more positive place with everything we do.

@Soul Clap

Yas! Fabric93 Mixed by Soul Clap Out in April

soul clap Fabric93

NYC via Boston funk phenomenons Soul Clap — Eli Goldstein and Charles Levine — have lent their diverse musical touch to fabric93. The release comes as the purveyors of EFUNK —Everybody’s Freaky Under Nature’s Kingdom — mark a decade creating music for the dance floor.

The 34-track session due out April 21 features exclusive tracks as well as contributions Crew Love cohorts and like-minded legends Barbara Tucker, Joakim, Scott Grooves, and Jimi Tenor & Tony Allen.

The pair will present an album release party on April 15 April alongside No Regular Play (live) and Scott Grooves at the legendary London club.

Obligatory press release gush from Eli and Charlie about the compilation: “It’s a huge honor to do a fabric mix and we wanted to make it special, and paint a picture of our eclectic musical world, but stay rooted in house music. We have so many memories at fabric and this mix represents the music that we play there, faster tempo, more electronic drums, deep and trippy sounds. But we still believe that mixes should be appropriate to listen to at home, on your headphones, or at an afterparty getting silly with friends; energetic, but always gentle.”

fabric93 tracklist:

  1. Scott Grooves & Ian Fink – Ambientroit w/Soul Clap Feat. Derren Smart (fabric Intro) [Unreleased]
  2. The Return – New Day [4th Floor]
  3. Jay Daniel – Paradise Valley [Technicolour]
  4. Life On Planets & David Marston – Take Your Time (Marston’s Dub 7” Edit) [Crew Love]
  5. Jesse Futerman/I-Robots – Gem (Hidden Spheres Remix) [Church]/Dirty Talk Feat. Donna McGhee (Original Acapella) [Opilec]
  6. Ancient Deep – Early Werk Feat. Carlos Mena (fabric Edit) [Deeper Shades]
  7. Barbara Tucker – I Get Lifted (X.T.C. Mix) [Strictly Rhythm]
  8. Lonely C & Tom Trago – The Compass Joint (Spaventi Dazzurro King Dub) [Unreleased]
  9. Midnight Magic – I Gotta Feeling (Soul Clap & Morgan Wiley Dub) [Soul Clap]
  10. Soul Clap, No Regular Play & John Camp – Weekend At Barnies (7” Edit) [Missed Connections]
  11. Harvey Sutherland & Bermuda – Bravado [Clarity]
  12. SuRFBiT – Slide Gloves [Q Face]
  13. Taylor Bense – Feels Good To Be Loved [Wolf + Lamb]
  14. Martin Heimann – Salto (Moon B Bubblin’ Mix) [Carry On]
  15. Zacky Force Funk Feat. Kutmah – The Split [Clone]
  16. Château Flight Feat. P.J. Choir – Ongaku (Unreleased Electro Dub) [Versatile]
  17. Youandewan – Something Keeps Me Real Quiet [!K7/Aus]
  18. Storm & Herman – Gotta Work [Strictly Rhythm]
  19. Indian Ocean/Derren Smart & Cornerbred – School Bell/Tree House [Phase One]/Strange Boys (Acapella)[Unreleased]
  20. Willie Burns – Candid Fireworks (Tom Noble Remix) [Superior Elevation]
  21. The Pool – Dance In Dub [Dark Entries]
  22. Nu Guinea – Nu World (Flute Mix) [Tartelet]
  23. Daev Martian – Live Love [Stay True]
  24. Life On Planets – Move It Forward [Soul Clap]
  25. The Hue – Spaced Out [Classic]
  26. Jack Novin & Matt Grone – Gang Progress (7” Edit) [Soul Clap]
  27. Ken Gill – Love Moon [Alleviated]
  28. Zopelar – Memories (7” Edit) [Soul Clap]
  29. Conga Radio – Right Beside You [Good Timin’]
  30. Sol Power All-Stars – Djidjo Vide Feat. Elikeh [Sol Power]
  31. Joakim – Boipeba (Dub) [Mareh Music]
  32. Maajo – Maajo [Queen Nanny]
  33. Jimi Tenor & Tony Allen – Path To Wisdom [!K7]
  34. Scott Grooves – Bittersweet Stripped [Natural Midi]

Tanner Ross Apologizes For Harassing RA Editor on Twitter


A week after producer Ten Walls’ homophobic rant on his personal Facebook page went viral and basically ended his career, Wolf + Lamb producer Tanner Ross has apologized for a barrage of awful tweets aimed to provoke Resident Advisor’s North American editor Andrew Ryce. Piecing together the story, Ross apparently didn’t like Ryce’s unimpressed review of Jamie xx’s new album, In Colour, and set out to piss Ryce off.

Ross tweeted: “Musta felt so good to give Jamie Xx a bad review. What was it like? Did your dick get hard?”

His follow-up: “@andrewryce like… I feel so cool just reading it. Can we rub our dicks together and go to Creamfields?” and “@andrewryce I was doing my dissertation at Fabric with Craig Richards before you came in someone’s ass.”

Ryce screenshotted the deplorable tirade (see below) and filed a complaint with Twitter, claiming Ross harassed and provoked him but reportedly to no avail.

tanner ross tweets andew ryce

As a result of the incident Ross was tossed from bill at the Crew Love party tonight in Barcelona.

When Ross’ comments went viral, he deleted many of the tweets and issued an apology on Facebook.

“I apologize to those who have been offended. Attacking someone verbally is absolutely wrong but I was not coming from a homophobic point of view. There really isn’t enough words that can express how sorry I am. I truly am sorry.”

Good luck on your next career, Tanner Ross. Dance music has no room for hate mongers like you.

Catz N Dogz’s Movement Festival Diary

Detroit’s Movement Electronic Music Festival is one of the most important techno festivals in the world. Each year luminaries from the genre descend upon the city to celebrate techno’s past, present and future during an amazing weekend.

When we found out Polish duo Catz N Dogz (listen to our exclusive premiere of “Killing With Kindness” feat. Phat Kat) were headed to the Motor City to make their debut at the annual shindig, we asked Grzegorz Demianczuk and Wojciech Taranczuk to keep a diary of their experiences. 

Not only did Demianczuk and Taranczuk succinctly capture the essence of their visit — hanging with Midland and Eats Everything to playing an after-hours party with Soul Clap — the duo snapped gorgeous black-and-white photos that are truly a sight to behold.

Soak it all up below and be sure to keep on eye out for their upcoming full-length album, Basic Colour Theory, due out shortly.

Started in Washington, D.C. full of energy! We’ve played at U Street Music Hall many times already and it’s definietly one of the most professional clubs in the US. We already have a good relationship with everybody that works there and the cool thing about the club is there is always a lot of professional dancers so we always play some broken beats and then some hip-hop at the end. If our flight from NYC hadn’t been delayed for three hours it would have been even more fun!

Catz N Dogz DEMF Photo Diary on the plane

Hello Detroit
After pre-party in D.C. on the way to Detroit, it was perfect weather for DEMF weekend. On the plane we decided that we were going to play a lot of classics, so since it’s our first time and it’s always been a dream to play there we thought this is the right way to do it! Pulled out a mashup of The Prodigy and our tune “They Frontin’.”

Catz N Dogz DEMF Photo Diary at the airport Continue Reading