2017 Rewind: Pablo del Monte

Pablo del Monte

How was 2017 for you?
Pablo del Monte: 2017 was a transitional year for me. I started the year much like 2016 with a string of releases that tickled the dance music charts on labels such as In The Loop and my own label, East Recordings. However, I had a realization early this year that I need to be releasing on the big labels to make the transition from a solid producer/DJ to one who is reaching the upper echelons of the Beatport charts and getting the bigger gigs.

My track disco-tech track “It Reminds Me of When” on Lupe Fuentes’ label In The Loop. It was one of those pieces of music that I was not thinking of releasing but was advised to do so by one of my advisors. It was my first track to go top 20. It’s interesting that often we are the worst judges of the quality of our own music.

I’ve recently moved from London to Bristol and during the transition period most of my studio has been in boxes and I’ve been working on a laptop with headphones. The move is now complete and my studio is up and running again.

Song of the year?
Camelphat feat. Elderbrook’s “Cola.” I was driving in the car the other day and I heard this on daytime mainstream radio. It’s been a long time since an underground house track has got into the main charts in the UK. Such a well-crafted piece of music.

What’s you New Year’s resolution?
I’ve decided to release fewer tracks but to focus on high quality. I’ve been writing material for the last six months that I’ve deliberately held back until they are as good as they can be with a view to releasing on the ‘big’ labels.

@Pablo del Monte

Big Shot Guest Mix 302: Pablo del Monte


We recently introduced you to Paul Whelan (a.k.a. Pablo del Monte), a rising London-based house DJ/producer. After premiering the title track of his rousing deep-house flavored Feel Feeling EP issued on his East Recordings, Whelan, who also helms Internet radio station/blog Brick Lane Radio, takes control of our latest Big Shot Guest Mix.

Check out his 11-track session below featuring choice selections from Kill Frenzy, Miguel Campbell, Maceo Plex and George FitzGerald. Be on the lookout for his new jam “Glide Over Here” (which he includes in his BSGM) brandishing remixes from Julius Papp, Nils Hess, William Medagli & Jose Maria Ramon and dj-Vox out September 15.

Pablo del Monte’s Montana Vista show airs on Brick Lane Radio every Sunday 11pm (GMT).

Big Shot Guest Mix 302: Pablo del Monte by Big Shot Magazine on Mixcloud

Big Shot Guest Mix 302: Pablo del Monte

  1. Pablo del Monte – “Anytime” (white label)
  2. Tapesh – “Generation” (Hot Since 82 Remix) (Warung Recordings)
  3. Pablo del Monte – “Feel Feeling” (Original Mix) (East Recordings)
  4. Kill Frenzy – “Big Breasted Beauty” (Hypercolour)
  5. Pablo del Monte – “Glide Over Here” (Original Mix) (East Recordings)
  6. Volkoder – “Sensation” (Suara)
  7. Miguel Campbell – “Baby I Got It” (Richy Ahmed Remix) (Hot Creations)
  8. Maceo Plex – “Frisky” (Crosstown Rebels)
  9. Doorly, Shadow Child – “Piano Weapon” (Instrumental) (Polydor)
  10. Doorly, Shadow Child – “Climbin'” (Piano Weapon) (Riva Starr Dub) (Polydor)
  11. George FitzGerald – “Everytime” (Deetron Remix) (Hypercolour)

Premiere: Pablo del Monte – “Feel Feeling”


With his Internet radio station/blog Brick Lane Radio running at full steam, London house DJ/producer Pablo del Monte (a.k.a. Paul Whelan) also champions house music on the label front with his East Recordings.

Today he presents his Feel Feeling EP, which is the imprint’s fourth release featuring a re-rub from America’s DJ-Vox.

We’re pleased to world premiere the deep-as-hell title track, an edgy sample cut brandishing a crafty groove, smokin’ hot bassline and sweet hi-hat action. Be on the lookout for Glen Brady’s Redeemer EP out July 14 on East Recordings.

Pablo del Monte Feel Feeling EP is out now on East Recordings.