2017 Rewind: Fort Knox Five

How was 2017 for you?
This last year was epic! From DC to BC, from DJing the 20th anniversary of Shambhala to playing alongside the mighty Fatboy Slim and Z-Trip, who could ask for more?

Recording the vocals to “Give It a Minute” with our buddy Bcap. We’ve known him for years, ending our farewells with “let’s do something together!” for so long, that it feels so good to finally get something down. (And the track is killer.)

Losing our friend Andrew McConnell. Andrew gave music a Voice, whether it was as a fan twisting your ear about scales, guitar pedals and set lists, or as a writer posting to his baby, LiveMusicDaily.com, or as a catalyst bringing the See-I live band down to his college party in Texas. Andrew embodied the spirit of the modern DIY musician. We miss him every day.

Song of the year?
Krafty Kuts and Dynamite MC’s “It Ain’t My Fault” ft. Chali 2na. This one is an combination of three of our favorites and all the remixes are dance floor monsters

What’s your New Year’s resolution?
Figure out how the music biz works. And since that might take too long, work on world peace.

@Fort Knox Five

Premiere: Fort Knox Five ft. Qdup – Four Deck DJ Set (2015 Shambhala Mix)


Fort Knox Five have appeared at the Shambhala Music Festival in the mountains of British Columbia for 10 years in a row now. But their most recent set as Shambhala is special for a couple of reasons. For one thing, this is the first time the Five’s Shambhala set has been subsequently made available to the wider world. Additionally, on a sad note, their latest set for the festival was performed in honor of their fallen comrade, the late Jon Horvath, known to FK5 fans as DJ Jon H. Their Four Deck set, featuring everything from exclusive mixes and original tunes to signature standbys, is a free-flowing blend of go-go, dancehall, funk, house and much more, letting you tap into that party feel from wherever you happen to be.

Here’s a note from the guys: “A special shout out goes to Rich E. Rich and the Fractal Forest crew for the continued support and always putting together one of the most anticipated line-ups of the festival year.”

01 FK Bambaattaa Intro
02 Fort Knox Five – Reach feat. Flex Mathews (Original Mix)
03 Dub FX – Back to Basics (Krafty Kuts Remix)
A Tribe Called Quest – Excursions (Acapella)
04 Balkan Beat Box – Hermetico
Dont Stop Get it Get it (Acapella)
05 JayKode – Kurura
Kenny Dope ft Screechy Dan – Boomin’ In Ya Jeep (Acapella)
06 Antuiserum & Mayhem – Cry Baby
Kenny Dope Ft Screechy Dan – Boomin’ In Ya Jeep (Acapella)
07 Hudson Mohawke – Cbat (Grandtheft Edit)
A.D.O.R. – One for the Trouble (Acapella)
08 Basement Freaks – Mo Diggity (Moombahton Mix)
A. Skillz vs Beat Vandals – Beat Dont Stop (Acapella)
09 Prince – Musicology (Bruno Borlone & Boogie Mike Remix)
A. Skillz – Beat Dont Stop (Acapella)
10 Fort Knox Five – Whatcha Gonna Do feat. Mustafa Akbar (Original Mix)
Big Daddy Kane – Just Rhymin’ with Biz (I go On and On) (Acapella)
11 Fort Knox Five vs Gangstarr – Whos Gonna Funk for Peace (Edit)
Heavy D – We got our own Thang (Acapella)
12 Fort Knox Five vs C+C Music Factory – Ready Go Get Funky (DC’s Finest Remint)
13 SCNDL – Gypsy (Neki Stranac Moombahton Mix)
The Cataracts – Bass Down Low (Acapella)
14 DonKong – Turn it Up
Crooklyn Clan – Bounce one time (to the beat) (Acapella)
15 Qdup – Mothership Calling feat Tee Double & Tigre Liu (Ursula 1000 remix)
16 Knight Rider (Atapy Let’s Ride Rework)
Public Enemy – Bring the Noise (Acapella)
17 Sharam Jey and Vanilla Ace – Flash Rider (Original Mix)
Public Enemy – Bring the Noise (Acapella)
18 Vision Factory – Fake B (Original Mix)
Digital Underground – Wind Me Up (Acapella)
19 Fort Knox Five – Keep it Poppin feat. Mustafa Akbar (DJ Dan and Mike Balance Remix)
Coolio – Ghetto Square Dance (Acapella)
20 Colombo – Sodium (Original Mix)
Benzino – Rock the Party (Acapella)
21 Je Boogie – Bass Drop (Original Mix)
Don Diablo ft The Beatkidz – Blow (Acapella)
22 The Chemical Brothers feat. Q-tip – Go
23 Mason – Papapa (Original Mix)
Move-Ya! and Steve Lavers – Rock Me (Acapella)
24 Disclosure – Latch (Kamil Remix)
25 Yolanda Be Cool – Soul Makossa (Money)
Big Daddy Kane – Rock the Discotech (Acapella)
26 Flex Cop – What we do (Original Mix)
Brooke Valentine ft Fabulous – Boogie Oogie (Acapella)
27 Kenna – Relations (Justin Martin remix)
28 Yello – Oh Yeah (Alkalino Rework)
The Roof is on Fire (Acapella)
29 Run D.M.C. – Its Like That (OHYEAH! remix)
30 Oliver – MYB (FTWs Move Yo Booty Refix)
Fort Knox Five – Killer Sound Boy (Acapella)
31 Infrakt – Jump Up (Original Mix)
Bassnectar – Cozza Frenzy (Acapella)
32 Major Lazer – Too Original (Qdup Breaks Re-rub)
33 Fort Knox Five vs Da Bush Babees vs Fugees – The Hipster Runs Things (DC’s Finest Remint)