Big Shot Guest Mix 322: The Shaker


DJ/producer Pete “The Shaker” Bones has been there and done that during his career. He’s played his brand of progressive house and techno at clubs all over the world; released tracks on labels including Superfreq, City Seven, Nosi, Bedrock; remixed cuts for FFRR, London Records and XL—all while helming his Red Ant label. After signing tracks to Superfreq, NOSI, City Seven, and We are Here Music in 2015, this year Bones signed tracks to John Digweed’s Bedrock imprint and inked a new global distribution deal for Red Ant. To commemorate the release of his Bring Your Love Down EP, which was issued this month on Red Ant, Bones crafted a rockin’ 11-track guest mix featuring cuts by Superpitcher, Daniel Casa, Zombies in Miami and Marino Canal. “The inspiration for this mix came from a set I played recently in the courtyard of a stately 13th century mansion in England,” Pete tells us. “The party is called What The? and is a yearly event, a two-day retreat for those who know during the beautiful British summertime.” Check the mix below and catch him at New World Brewery in Tampa on October 15.

Big Shot Guest Mix 322: The Shaker

  1. Superpitcher – “People” (Kompakt)
  2. The Shaker – “Snow Globe” (Red Ant)
  3. Pete Bones – “Iron Curtain” (Red Ant)
  4. Eddie Vedder – “The Wolf” (Niko Schwind Remix) (White)
  5. Daniel Casa – “After Warsavia” (Embi Music)
  6. Marino Canal – “Solace” (MOOD)
  7. Montcosmik – “Agonie” (Nein)
  8. Zombies in Miami – “Shadows” (Correspondant)
  9. Pete Bones – “Another Fine Mess” (Red Ant)
  10. The Shaker – “Bring your Love Down” (Red Ant)
  11. JW Paris – “Animal” (Red Ant)

Album Review: Electric Rescue / ‘Sonic Architecture’ (Bedrock)

electric rescue sonic architecture


Antoine Husson’s greatest trick would be to put the two parts of the dancefloor he separates back together like a member of the magic circle, fooling those thinking that it can’t be done. Electro and tech-snipped house both deep and combative are the big deal here, but with a jumble of beats also in attendance, the two don’t mesh well enough to validate any nip and tuck, back and forth, or high to low pressure situations the French authority puts forward.

Reeled off one after the other, the big room kickers make for a steaming great set of dancefloor force and contours. “The Rave Child,” a flare-up of steadily released euphoria, and “Lili” finishing as a ruminative quest for hope, are the kind of variation that fits. That the beastly spines of “Silky” and tech house gruel of art/life imitations “Irritated” and “Lowd” find themselves dropping back towards “Airy Filed”, with its acoustics and accordions, and “Saturn” lessening with pale pianos, is Husson not being terribly protective of the vibe he’s built up.

“To Sail”, in the hands of recurring smoothie Gran Cavaliere and set to a sub-western soundtrack, is quite dramatic, but is a distant relative scooped up by the throbbing thunder of “The Four Keys”, in one of the album’s less logical sequences. Harsh/greedy as it sounds, it’s a house and techno album that needs more house and techno to guarantee a good thing.

Matt Oliver
File under: D’Jedi, Laurent Garnier, Maxime Dangles