Premiere: Al Kent – Disco Demands Six Mini Mix


Glasgow-based DJ/producer Ewan Kelly, known more widely by his Al Kent alias, just released the sixth installment of his Disco Demands series. As with previous efforts, the Million Dollar Disco label boss displays his passion for unearthing rare dance floor nuggets from the ’70s and ’80s, sprinkling them with remastering magic and serving them up for like-minded modern-day cratediggers.

We’re thrilled to world premiere an exclusive mini mix of Disco Demands Part Six (BBE) – out now on CD, vinyl and digital formats – that’ll give you a taste of the back-to-the-future sound Kelly has perfected. He had this to say about his new release:

“This album, like most projects I’m involved in, was a real labor of love – I think it was first pitched about three years ago. But the business side of these things is becoming more complex, especially with the more obscure music these type of albums showcase. However, we got there in the end and I’m more than happy with the album and the feedback it’s getting.

“All the tracks are aimed squarely at the dance-floor and I’ve played them all on my travels, so I know they work! But it’s also a great album to simply enjoy at home, especially with the luxurious packaging. I have to thank BBE for being crazy enough to allow me to do these extravagant things!”

Hit the play button below and get ready to boogie.

Track list

  1. Ava Cherry – You Never Loved Me
  2. King Sporty – Fire Keep On Burning
  3. Jo Bisso – I Wanna Love
  4. Philip & Lloyd – Keep On Moving’
  5. Southroad Connection – You Like It We Love It
  6. J D Hall – Wonder Woman
  7. Grupo Macho – San Salvador
  8. Tangerue – Doin’ Your Own Thing

No paywalls, free to all. Help us remain 100% independent and unbiased. Please give to Big Shot by making a secure one-time donation to help us continue covering DJ culture and electronic music like we’ve done since 2003.

Album Review: Los Transatlanticos / ‘First Trip’ (BBE)


For an album dependent on fusion and crossing cultures, the maiden voyage of Los Transatlanticos lacks spark. Reggae/dub and Latin, regularly caught up in a calypso quarrel, hits a glass ceiling. Though an always lively funk carioca and a convergence that stops itself before getting too crowded, it becomes an experiment with unsurprising outcomes. Croatian Dean Bagar, a regular visitor to South America until he made a record with vinyl pen friend Pablo Gaviria puts you in the holiday mood with “Mi Sembrado” and “Donde Esta Maria” telling when the clubs are open and “Alone I Am” showing you a less hectic side to the scenery. Traditional sounds are given an electronic workover as Bagar lugs his melting pot down back streets, with added hip-hop attractions (“Tierra Y Sol” packs in as much as possible), tentative attempts at dubstep integration (“Desde Colombia,” “De Donde Vengo Yo”) and big-beat, beat-boxed road trips (“Te Miro”).

The inevitable drum ‘n’ bass shake-up is last on, a remix of LA 33’s “Funky Boogaloo.”.If you’re rushing to the departures gate, snapping up First Trip isn’t a bad idea, but it’s unlikely you’ll be spinning it once back home and a language barrier shouldn’t be held responsible either. The live performance with its instrumentalists, elements and cultures alignedmight provide more excitement.
File under: The Nextmen, Latin Dub Soundsystem, Sunlightsquare