Downtempo Gods Tosca Ready ‘Boom Boom Boom’ Remix LP

Tosca BOOM BOOM BOOM remixes

Tosca — the long-running collaboration between Vienna-based Richard Dorfmeister and Rupert Huber — will release Boom Boom Boom, a remix album of songs from the duo’s eighth album, Going Going Going, on February 9, 2018.

Boom Boom Boom features dance floor interpretations by Brendon Moeller, Shanti Roots & Scheibosan, Pacifica (whose re-rub can be streamed below), Steve Cobby, Stefan Obermaier, Megablast, Second Sky & Thomas Blondet and Stereotyp.

Related: Downtempo Legends Tosca Keep on Going Going Going

Says Richard of the remix record, “Going Going Going was very much a winter album, and winter in Vienna to be precise. Already a quiet city, at this time of year the grey skies and misty days can wrap themselves around the city, whilst snow blankets the city in silence.”

“It was a very introspective Tosca Album, a reflection of that covered, silent time, just Richard and myself working alone in the studio,” adds Rupert. “But just as February can be a dark time, it’s also marks that point when the season begins to turn and it heralds the return of the warmer, lighter days to come. So Boom Boom Boom is like the coming of spring, where we have opened up the studio again and invited our musical friends in to play.”

Boom Boom Boom Tracklist

  1. Amber November (Brendon Moeller Rub)
  2. Love Boat (Shanti Roots & Scheibosan Distraction Version Feat. Jesskitty)
  3. Export Import (Pacifica Remix)
  4. Tommy (Steven Cobby Remix)
  5. Friday (Stefan Obermaier Remix)
  6. Supersunday (Megablast Remix)
  7. Wotan (Second Sky & Thomas Blondet Remix)
  8. Amber November (Brendon Moeller Dub)
  9. Chinabar (Stereotyp Remix)

Downtempo Legends Tosca Keep on Going Going Going


Eight albums into their career Austrian downtempo dons Richard Dorfmeister and Rupert Huber of Tosca felt a desire to embrace their past in order to move forward. Their new album, Going Going Going, is a gallant return to the dub sound they’ve embraced from the beginning but had cast aside on later albums. In the process, they’ve put the kibosh on the vocal collaborations that were prevalent on 2014’s Outta Here and are in a new groove. As Richard Dorfmeister tells us, “Somehow we found out that we are more into instrumental-based music at the moment.”

Revisiting dub and making their musical world a little smaller has resulted in one of 2017’s most enjoyable downtempo albums. We chatted with the duo via email and got down to brass tacks about how they got here from there and what a career-defining Tosca box set might look like. Continue Reading

Tosca Go Back to Their Roots on ‘Going Going Going’

tosca dorfmeister huber

Austrian downtempo duo Tosca, a longstanding musical partnership between childhood friends Richard Dorfmeister and Rupert Huber which took off once they released “Chocolate Elvis” on G-Stone Recordings in 1994, will release their eighth full-length album in February 2017. Going Going Going (!K7 Records) finds the pair digging deeper into their dub-downtempo roots and forgoing the song-oriented direction and vocal collaborations heard on 2014’s Outta Here.

Speaking to Big Shot after the release of 2013’s Odeon, Dorfmeister explained, “Tosca albums are always like a collection of snapshots, or like a diary … let the music that we are about to create guide us … so it is actually non-intentional, and there is a moment when it is clear: this is it, the album is ready.”

Ahead of the album’s release, the duo have unveiled the album cut “Export Import” which you can stream below.

Compilation Review: Tosca / ‘Tlapa – The Odeon Remixes’ (!K7)

Tlapa - The Odeon Remixes


When the original has been described as a work that puts its progenitors “in the maverick category,” upon being called up for the remix package, do you go like for like and play the rebels at their own game, try and straighten out the eccentricities to get them on your team, or just go about your own business to let them know who this project is really about?

Richard Dorfmeister and Rupert Huber are now seated for deep house and cosmic disco (“Meixner” again taking to the highway), measuring gilt-edged lushness and a look-ahead tightening of dancing shoes, all with a little loftiness carried over by an international cast. Dorfmeister’s own head to head with Madrid de Los Austrias means jazzy stepping out of bed comes with a little less stubble, taking a shine to a drifter donning top hat and tails, and there are even footnotes made within new supplements as Brendon Moeller betters himself as Beat Pharmacy to claim extra credit for “Bonjour,” with a dance floor study approaching odyssey status.

Whereas sombreness seemed to intrude on the source, there’s larger uplift second time around, without it being a facelift finishing in a manic grin. Though the AGF reformation of “Cavallo” displays a impatience that breaks up the original, “JayJay” in particular sounds more wide awake when taken care of first by Stefane Lefrancois, then with Makossa and Megablast rechanneling its pseudo-goth energy. In conclusion, all of the above.

File under: Rodney Hunter, Rainer Truby, Joyce Muniz