Paul McCartney’s Electronic Music Project Broadens Its Horizons

Paul McCartney The Fireman

After surviving threats from Islamic extremists before his recent gig in Israel, former Beatle Sir Paul McCartney, 66, announced his electronic music project with famed producer Youth (Killing Joke/The Orb/The Verve) will release its third album, Electric Arguments, on November 18. The album comes after 1998’s Rushes which preceded 1993’s Strawberries Oceans Ships Forest. According to a statement, McCartney and Youth went into the studio with no master plan or clear direction and recorded the album in just 13 days scattered over the course of a year. Unlike their prior albums that were focused on instrumental electronic music, the new album will contain vocals for the first time and rockier songs, “yet is in keeping with the genre-hopping spirit of the first two the Fireman albums.” The album’s first single, “Nothing Too Much Just Out of Sight,” made its debut last night on the BBC. What do you think?

Tracklisting for The Fireman’s Electric Arguments

1. “Nothing Too Much Just out of Sight”
2. “Two Magpies”
3. “Sing the Changes”
4. “Travelling Light”
5. “Highway”
6. “Light from Your Lighthouse”
7. “Sun Is Shining”
8. “Dance ‘Til We’re High”
9. “Lifelong Passion”
10. “Is This Love?”
11. “Lovers in a Dream”
12. “Universal Here, Eve”

“Nothing Too Much Just Out of Sight”

An older, much more electronic sounding Fireman tune…

image via MySpace