Marc Houle Launching Album Trilogy in 2017

marc houle Sinister Mind

marc houle Sinister Mind

David Bowie, Neil Young and Bob Dylan are among a long list of influential rock artists who released album trilogies during their career. That sort of artistic innovation is rare in the singles-driven world of electronic music, but it hasn’t stopped producer Marc Houle from attempting this artistic feat. On March 24 Houle will release Sinister Minds, which is the first of an album trilogy, on his Items & Things imprint. Known for his array of releases for M_nus and breathtaking live techno sets, Houle’s trilogy will showcase his other musical proclivities. Both he and his brother also play guitar on several of the tracks, and that no doubt widens the sonic palette he’s known for.

Obligatory press release gush from Houle, who once shared his adoration of British metal band Iron Maiden with Big Shot, about the nine-track release: “After over 10 years of making music, I felt it was a good time to stop and access my musical journey. I didn’t plan on a trilogy but I realised I had so much to say that limiting it to only 1 LP wouldn’t get the whole story across. The first album ‘Sinister Mind’ reflects more the dark tendencies and tones of my sound.”

Sinister Mind Tracklist

  1. Don’t Think of Me
  2. Sinister Mind
  3. Maskatron
  4. Loafers
  5. Failure
  6. Bassorrific
  7. Dark Tom
  8. Conbular
  9. Paligama

Marc Houle’s New Album Is A ‘Cola Party’

marc houle

When we checked in with Berlin techno don Marc Houle last month he was about to release his Fusion Pop EP and was in the process of completing his sixth artist album. “We’re mastering it right now — it’s got nine tracks that are all over the map, and I really really like it,” he told us. “It’s a step forward for me but it’s still my style. I’ve also been playing them out recently to good response, so I’m pretty excited about releasing it.” Today Houle announced more details about the full-length. The follow-up to 2012′s Undercover is titled Cola Party and will be released on July 4 on Items & Things, the label he co-runs with Magda and Troy Pierce. A cursory preview of the album reveals Houle digging into a wealth of sounds, styles and his trademark pitched down vocals and quirky rhythms. As a bonus for digital DJs and Traktor users worldwide, the album will be part of the Native Instruments’ Traktor Remix Set series in July. The stems of seven of the tracks from the album will be on this Remix Set release, following on from an array of other well-known artists who have done the same since the Remix Set series’ inception in Autumn 2012. As for the significance of the title, well, that’s a bit of a mystery at the moment.

Cola Party Tracklisting

1. Over The Top
2. I Don’t Wanna Know About You
3. S.T.E.A.K.
4. Cola Party
5. Jackn’ Jill
6. Hot Sauce
7. Raybans in Bahrain
8. Gimme Gimme
9. Alpha Bit

Techno Titan Marc Houle Talks New Releases and Iron Maiden


It was front-page news in 2011 when Marc Houle, Magda and Troy Pierce announced they were collectively leaving Richie Hawtin’s Minus label to develop their Items & Things imprint, originally a sub-label under Minus’ auspices. The trio of serial collaborators’ reason for departing Hawtin’s camp was rooted in their wish to build their own musical future together. Almost three years later the threesome and Items & Things have been slowly realizing their dreams on their own terms, quietly redefining minimal techno one blip at a time. Houle has kept particularly busy, taking part in a series of collaborations in 2013 with Miss Kittin (Where is Kittin? EP), Click Box (Razzamatazz EP) and an album with synth-pop act La Folie.

“I love making music with other people because it’s such a great feeling when they add stuff that you wouldn’t think of,” offers the Berlin-based Houle. “I’m not sure if it’s had an impact on me but it’s a nice change and anything new in the studio is a good thing.”

This month Houle presents his first solo release since 2012, the Fusion Pop EP. The release features two original minimal cuts and remixes from Magda and I&T artist NYMA. His latest effort arrives during a period of extensive touring, which finds him crisscrossing the world nearly every weekend.

“Traveling around a lot gives you lots of time to think about things, so I’m always making notes to reference when I get home and start working again,” he explains. “Also when you’re away from the studio for awhile you just can’t wait to get back in and make lots of music. So I’m doing this interview right after three crazy shows in Argentina. I’m pretty exhausted from all that partying but it was a really great time playing for people who love music a bit weirder than normal. It’s such a crazy country!”

Houle’s one-man live show continues to evolve in tandem with his forward-thinking and often unconventional production style. His performances leverage the diversity of his DJ sets by utilizing an array of hardware to create a unique experience. “It’s been a very slow change over the years,” Houle says. “[The live show] became more energetic over time and definitely more eclectic. I’ve learned to play different feels and styles depending on the people dancing in front of me. Over the years I’ve brought different pieces of gear with me — synths, drum machines and now microphones — to enhance things and give me more options. I think these days you need to be flexible. In the future, I think I need to concentrate more on the visual aspect of things. It’s almost becoming as important as the music.”
Continue Reading

Updated ‘Remiix Marc Houle’ App Released Today

Marc Houle Remiix

Revered Canadian artist Marc Houle has released an updated version of his Remix Marc Houle app for IOS. The revised version features 28 new basslines and 32 new drum loops produced by Marc Houle himself. Developed by the Berlin-based tech company Liine, the app allows the user to take elements of a track and reimagine it on an iPhone or iPad, using EQ, delay, loops, samples, volume and reverb controls. Once the track has been completed, the app allows the mobile producer to master it and then share on their social networks. The Marc Houle Remiix app also contains an  features an array of tracks from Houle’s discography including “Bay of Figs,” “Edamame,” “Mooder,” “On It,” “Porch,” “Triple E” and “Undercover.” The app sells for $2.99 in the iTunes app store and can be purchased here.