Joe Goddard Plots North American Tour

Joe Goddard

Joe Goddard of Hot Chip/The 2 Bears fame might be one of the busiest people in dance music. After releasing “Lose Your Love” in December, he started 2017 with a bang by dropping a stunning video for an even more stunning cover of Danny Tenaglia’s “Music is the Answer.” He quickly followed by tapping Morgan Geist to remix his track “Home,” which also boasts a jaw-dropping video. Other recent endeavors include Goddard interpreting Busy P featuring Mayer Hawthorne’s “Genie” and Nils Bech’s “Glimpse Of Hope.”

The flurry of activity is taking place in the run-up to the release of his upcoming solo album, Electric Lines, due out April 21 on Domino/Greco-Roman. We’ve been living with an advance copy and can attest Electric Lines will go down as one of 2017’s most compelling and thoughtful dance albums.

After the full-length’s release, the London-based Goddard will trek across the pond to play a series of live dates and DJ sets in North America. There’s only eight, so catch Joe Goddard if you can.

May 10 Vancouver, BC – Fortune Sound Club
May 11 San Francisco, CA – Public Works
May 14 Seattle, WA – Nectar Lounge
May 15 San Diego, CA – Casbah
May 17 Denver, CO – Bar Standard (DJ Set)
May 19 Brooklyn, NY – House of Yes
May 26 Chicago, IL – Smart Bar
May 27 Miami, FL – Electric Pickle (DJ Set)

Hot Chip Reference ’90s Club Track on “Huarache Lights”

hot chip

After teasing fans last week with a vague 9-second promo video clip, Hot Chip — Joe Goddard, Alexis Taylor, Felix Martin, Al Doyle and Owen Clarke — have revealed that they will release their sixth album and second for Domino, Why Make Sense?, on May 19.

The UK group also dropped the album’s first single, “Huarache Lights,” a track that finds the digi-funkers in top form and referencing C’hantal’s 1990 club classic “The Realm” [“I’ve got something for your mind, body and soul…”].

The accompanying music video for “Huarache Lights” is based around a light installation by artist Robert Bell. The video, which does not feature any of the members of Hot Chip, is notable because director Andy Knowle pulled a Kiesza and filmed the clip in one take at Block 336 Gallery in Brixton.

Check out the video below and have a look at their Facebook for upcoming tour dates because I really can’t be bothered to paste ’em into this post.

Why Make Sense? tracklisting:
1. Huarache Lights
2. Love Is The Future
3. Cry For You
4. Started Right
5. White Wine and Fried Chicken
6. Dark Night
7. Easy To Get
8. Need You Now
9. So Much Further To Go
10. Why Make Sense?

Separate EP:
1. Burning up
2. Separate
3. Move With Me
4. Re-harmonize