Goldfrapp Drops First Single From ‘Silver Eye’


Things are looking up for fans of Goldfrapp, who’ve been waiting patiently for a new LP since the twosome released 2013’s Tales of Us. The duo comprised of Allison Goldfrapp and Will Gregory will release their seventh album, Silver Eye (Mute), on March 31. What’s notable about the full-length is that they retained the services of a few collaborators including electronic composer Bobby Krlic (a.k.a. The Haxan Cloak) and Brian Eno collaborator Leo Abrahams adding abstract guitar textures, with David Wrench (The xx, fka Twigs, Caribou) mixing the album recorded in London. To show that they really mean business, Goldfrapp dropped a dark new track called “Anymore” and an accompanying video (watch below).

Obligatory press release gush from Alison Goldfrapp: “We’ve never liked repeating ourselves. Often we react to things we’ve just done. We like the spontaneity of not knowing. It’s only through the process that we start to figure out what it is. The fans who have stuck with us are the ones who embrace that idea and are excited by the thought that they don’t know quite what to expect next.”

Obligatory press release gush from Will Gregory: “I think writing an album is like being lost in a wood. You’re trying to figure out an interesting path. You don’t know whether it’s going to be a dead end or somewhere interesting and you never know when to stop because around the corner some beautiful vista might open up.”