Album Review: Cream Future Trance (New State Music)


The problem with compilations that use words like “new” or “future” in the title is that usually all the tracks have been around for some time. But thankfully this is not the case with Cream’s latest offering.

With a few exceptions (Lange’s “Out of the Sky,” Eric Prydz’s “Pjanoo” and Stoneface & Terminal’s “Blueprint”) most of the records included on this album are currently being played by all the big names in trance. Tracks like Leonid Rudenko’s “Summerfish” mean that CD 1 appears to be the more housey disc, but mixing in Wippenberg’s “Chakalaka” leaves no doubt about the fact that this is ultimately a trance compilation. Highlights include Re-Ward’s remix of the 4 Strings anthem “Take Me Away” and Paul van Dyk’s “Castway” (Jon O’Bir Remix), but it’s the inclusion of James Doman’s awful remake of the underground classic “Alright” by Red Carpet that stops the release from getting full marks.
Ellie Hanagan
File under: Armin van Buuren, Paul van Dyk, Ferry Corsten

as featured in Issue 26