No Decks. Instead, Techno Stalwart Jeff Mills Handles Drums & Programming on Spiral Deluxe Debut Due in September

Spiral Deluxe Jeff Mills

After news broke last week via Todd Osborn’s Technical Equipment Supply record shop that a pair of previously unreleased 1993-94 tracks by Underground Resistance’s Mike Banks and Jeff Mills — “Electronic Emotions” / “Like That” — would see the light of day on August 17, the perennially forward-thinking Mills has announced that Spiral Deluxe, an improvisational quartet he helms with bandmates Yumiko Ohno on Moog synth, Kenji “Jino” Hino on bass and Gerald Mitchell on keyboards, will release their debut, Voodoo Magic, via Mills’ Axis Records on September 7.

Don’t expect Mills to be perched behind a pair of decks. Instead, Mills contributes programming and uses his role in the four-piece to return to his drummer roots, a desire he’s apparently had for many years. The genesis of Spiral Deluxe dates back to a one-off gig at Museum du Le Louvre in Paris, where Mills had the opportunity to form a band for a one-off-performance. Things went so well that the crew decided to carry on.

According to a missive, Voodoo Magic‘s four-song release is a byproduct of a two-day recording session at Studio Ferber in Paris. Most tracks were recorded in one-take to “capture the moment.” In addition to the four cuts, Detroit DJ/producer Terrence Parker lends his soulful touch on a remix of “Let It Go.”

There’s no word yet if the group will tour. In the meantime, they’ve just dropped a teaser for “The Paris Roulette” — a tune that seems to meld electronic and elements of jazz — which can be viewed below.

Track Listing

  1. E=MC2
  2. Voodoo Magic
  3. The Paris Roulette
  4. Let It Go (Original Mix)
  5. Let It Go (Terrence Parker mix)

[sg_popup id=57150]

Darren Ressler

Add a Comment