Leon Vynehall Recounts His Grandparents’ Days in New York on Debut Album ‘Nothing Is Still’ Featuring 10-piece String Section

Leon Vynehall

Lauded UK DJ/producer Leon Vynehall has revealed details about his debut album, Nothing Is Still, out June 15 on Ninja Tune.

The album is thematically centered on his grandparents’ emigration from the south east of England to New York City in the ’60s. The couple traveled to America via a week-long boat trip, from Southampton to Brooklyn. Vynehall says the stories of their trip and life in the US have only truly come to light upon the passing of his grandfather four years ago.

In a press release Vynehall said, “I knew they had lived in the U.S. and heard many anecdotes, but it was only after Pops died and my Nan presented these Polaroids of their time there; of her waitressing at the New York Mayor’s Ball in ’66, or Pops with horses on a ranch in Arizona, that she delved deeper into their story, and I started to become overtly inquisitive about it.”

Vynehall added that had deep conversations with his grandmother about what they experienced. “I felt the need to document this period for her, and it all just sort of snowballed from there.”

To help him realize the songs he wrote for the album, Vynehall worked with an array of musicians, including a ten-piece string section.

For a taste of the full-length, check “Envelopes (Chapter VI)” posted today.

Leon Vynehall – Nothing Is Still

  1. From The Sea/It Looms (Chapters I & II)
  2. Movements (Chapter III)
  3. Birds On The Tarmac (Footnote III)
  4. Julia (Footnote IV)
  5. Drinking It In Again (Chapter IV)
  6. Trouble – Parts I, II, & III (Chapter V)
  7. Envelopes (Chapter VI)
  8. English Oak (Chapter VII)
  9. Ice Cream (Chapter VIII)
  10. It Breaks (Chapter IX)

Leon Vynehall Nothing is Still Ninja Tune

Yehouda Silverman

Add a Comment