FOX’s Electronic Music Awards Is A Sausagefest

Electronic Music Awards FOX

Does the Electronic Music Awards & Foundation airing Saturday, April 23 (8:00-9:00 PM ET/PT) on FOX have an issue with women? We’re wondering because aside from an Album of the Year nomination for Alina Baraz & Galimatias and featured performance nods for ROZES and  female DJs and dance music artists were all but ignored in the seven categories for the show’s upcoming inaugural ceremony. According to the show’s PR rep, nominations were made by “prominent names in the dance music industry.” Right, but what the hell?

In a press release Paul Duddridge, Executive Producer from TV4 Entertainment, said, “The nominees reflect dance music trends on a global level bringing together DJs, producers, clubs and brands that represent a wide range of genres.” If that is the case then it would be good to know why significant contributions by a wide range of acclaimed female artists — Tokimonsta, Emika, Grimes, Maya Jane Coles, Ellen Allien, Nina Kraviz, The Black Madonna, Ultra Naté, Lupe FuentesNicole Moudaber, Annie Mac and Magda, to name but a few — were entirely ignored by these “prominent names.” Mind you, we’re not suggesting a Best Female DJ category but simply inclusion of deserving artists within appropriate categories.

The list of nominees (see below) is largely dominated by male EDM types including Calvin Harris, Diplo and Skrillex, with the inclusion of legends like Carl Cox and DJ Harvey for, you know, credibility. Still, though, what’s perplexing is they didn’t even nominate Aussie sister duo Nervo or Krewella who are massive stars in the genre they’re most focused on.

There’s over two months to go until the EMA’s so let’s hope the producers get with the program and add much-need diversity to the lineup because the world simply does not need another sausagefest of male music types patting each other on the back.

Update February 25 11:30am: Goldie has been announced as the host of the awards ceremony. He said, “It’s an honor to be the first host of these new awards. I want to make sure that the night is exciting and true to the electronic music community.”

Single of the Year
Calvin Harris & Disciples – How Deep is Your Love
The Chainsmokers – Roses (feat. ROZES)
Galantis – Runaway (U & I)
Kygo – Stole the Show (feat. Parson James)
Major Lazer & DJ Snake – Lean On (feat. MØ)

Album of the Year
Alina Baraz & Galimatias – Urban Flora
Calvin Harris – Motion
Disclosure – Caracal
Galantis – Pharmacy
Jamie xx – In Colour

Radio Show of the Year
BBC Radio 1 Essential Mix
BPM with Geronimo – Sirius XM
Danny Howard – BBC Radio 1’s Dance Anthems
Diplo and Friends – BBC Radio 1Xtra
Jason Bentley – Morning Becomes Eclectic – KCRW

Festival of the Year
Creamfields – Daresbury, England
Electric Daisy Carnival – Las Vegas, USA
Sonar – Barcelona, Spain
The BPM Festival – Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Ultra Music Festival – Miami, USA

DJ of the Year
Carl Cox
DJ Harvey

Best New Artist
Bob Moses
DJ Snake

Best Club of the Year
Sound LA

Image by David Monniaux

Darren Ressler

Add a Comment