Rick Rubin Taps Dance Producers For ‘Star Wars Headspace’


Legendary Beastie Boys producer/label mogul Rick Rubin has joined forces with crew of elite dance music producers for an upcoming release centered around Star Wars. Set for digital release on February 19 on Hollywood Records/American Recordings, Star Wars Headspace will feature exclusive tracks by Flying Lotus, Kaskade, GTA, Baauer, Shlohmo, Rustie, Bonobo, Röyksopp and Rubin himself who gets down and dirty on a track featuring A-Trak. All of the cuts include officially sanctioned Star Wars sound clips and effects.

The news about the Rubin-curated album — which comes just weeks after the re-release of Star Wars soundtracks on vinyl — was broken today on Zane Lowe‘s Beats 1 program in a carefully orchestrated campaign by Disney (naturally!) that features a microsite where you can pre-purchase the release.

With the compilation out in less than 11 days, Disney wisely made public tracks by Flying Lots, Baauer and Rick Rubin to whet fans’ appetite.

Check out the three tracks and tracklisting below.

Star Wars Headspace track listing:

  1. Kaskade “C-3P0’s Plight”
  2. GTA “Help Me!”
  3. TroyBoi “Force”
  4. Baauer “Cantina Boys”
  5. Shag Kava “Jabba Flow: Rick Rubin Re-Work” [ft. A-Trak]
  6. Claude VonStroke “R2 Knows” [ft. Barry Drift]
  7. Rick Rubin “NR-G7”
  8. Bonobo “Ghomrassen”
  9. Röyksopp “Bounty Hunters”
  10. ATTLAS “Sunset Over Manaan”
  11. Flying Lotus “R2 Where R U?”
  12. Shlohmo “Druid Caravan of Smoke”
  13. Rustie “EWOK PUMPP”
  14. Galantis “Scruffy-Looking Nerfherder”
  15. Breakbot “Star Tripper”

Darren Ressler

Add a Comment