Don’t Sleep on Ninja Tune’s 25th Anniversary Essential Mix

ninja tune essential mix

Groundbreaking UK imprint Ninja Tune continue their 25th anniversary celebration with a memorable Essential Mix which aired last week on BBC Radio 1. The two-hour session was helmed by label founders Coldcut (Matt Black and Jonathan More) and rising house sensation Seven Davis, Jr., who released his debut album, Universes, earlier in the year on the label.

“We wanted to represent as many of the current Ninja Tune roster as possible and also throw a couple of classics from the archives into the mix in addition to some influential and inspirational tracks,” said Black and More.

Seven Davis, Jr., whose hour featured exclusive tracks from Steven Julien (a.k.a. Funkineven), Jesse Rose and a remix of his “Sunday Morning” by Karizma (a.k.a. Kaytronik), was stoked at the opportunity to flex his mixing muscles. “I was really honored when Ninja Tune asked me to represent the new generation of artists on the label.”

The two-hour session is available on the BBC iPlayer for a limited time. Get a scoop before it’s gone.


Hour 1 – Coldcut

Roots Manuva – Don’t Breathe Out (Big Dada)
Romare – Roots (Ninja Tune)
Reckonwrong – Radio Magic Tracks – (Whities)
Konk – Your Life (What U Want) – (Sleeping Bag Records)
Beat Spacek – I Wanna Know (Seven Davis Jr Midnight Remix) (Ninja Tune)
Klasmos – Looped – (Erased Tapes)
Arthur Russell – See My Brother, He’s Jumping Out (Let’s Go Swimming #2) – (Audika)
Martyn & Four Tet – Glassbeadgames (8 Hours at Fabric Dub) (Ninja Tune)
Lee Bannon – Memory 6 (Ninja Tune)
The Bug – Poison Dart (Ninja Tune)
Wiley – Step 2001 (prod. by Zomby) (Big Dada)
Teeth – Shawty – (502 Recordings)
Moresounds – Altercations – (Astrophonica)
DJ Spinn & Rashad – Dubby feat. Danny Brown (Hyperdub)
Bonobo – Eyesdown feat. Andreya Triana (Machinedrum Remix) (Ninja Tune)
Dream Continuum – Giv A Lil Luv – (Planet Mu)
Funki Porcini – King Ashabanapal (Dillinja Mix) (Ninja Tune)
DJ Food – Scratch Yer Head (Squarepusher Mix) (Ninja Tune)
Machinedrum – Eyesdontlie (DJ Shadow Remix) (Ninja Tune)
DJ Vadim – Terrorist (Instrumental) (Ninja Tune)
Jeru Tha Damaja – Come Clean (Sabre’s 20/20 Bootleg) (No Label)
East Flatbush Project – Tried by Twelve – (Ninja Tune)
OC – Times Up – (Wild Pitch)
Illum Sphere – Ritual (Ninja Tune)
Brother Ahh – Love Piece – (Strata East)
The Prime Element – En El Amanecer Del Tiempo (In The Dawn of Time) – Trova
Flying Lotus – Zodiac Shit (Warp)
Eddie Kendricks – My People, Hold On – (Tamla)
Wife – Bodies – (Left Blank)
cLOUDDEAD – Dead Dogs Two (Boards of Canada Remix) – (Big Dada)

Hour 2 – Seven Davis, Jr.

Blockhead – The Music Scene (Ninja Tune)
Toto Chiavetta – Revolution Has Come (Unreleased)
Seven Davis Jr – Sunday Morning (Kaytronik Ruff Kut Mix) (Ninja Tune)
Frikardo – 30 Degrees (Lyre Records)
Bonobo – Flashlight (Ninja Tune)
Alfabet (aka Awanto 3 & Tom Trago) – Lap The Music (Rush Hour)
Steven Julien a.k.a Funkineven – Kingdom (Unreleased)
Moodymann – Sunday Hotel (KDJ)
Thatmanmonkz feat. Pete Simpson – In Bed With You (Classic)
Dorian Concept – Draft Culture (Nathan Fake Remix) (Ninja Tune)
Chris Turner – FlyLOVE (Simbad Edit) (Rebirth)
GEM1N17 – Spaceflight (Rhode & Brown LFO in Space Remix) (Plant Music)
Steven Julien a.k.a Funkineven – 90 Chick (Unreleased)
Jesse Rose feat. Seven Davis Jr – It’s Not Over (Unreleased)
Toto Chiavetta – Prayer (Unreleased)
Seven Davis Jr feat. Yazmin Money Watkins – Dancing On The Sun – Reprise (Unreleased)
Seven Davis Jr – See The Light (Unreleased)
Bonobo​ – Pelican (Ninja Tune)

Darren Ressler

Add a Comment