Ratatat Returns with ‘Magnifique’ LP

ratatat magnifique

Those who have been keeping track and realizing that it’s been five years now since the last Ratatat album, LP4, may have been wondering when the New York duo would be laying another LP on us. That time has arrived. Of course, if you’ve been paying close attention, you’re probably already aware that the pair recently dropped a new single, “Cream on Chrome,” a song that was introduced to the world at large when Ratatat played Coachella 2015. But now the fire of hope that was lit in the hearts of Ratatat fans by that song has risen to a four-alarmer with the announcement of the group’s forthcoming fifth album.

Magnifique is set for a July 17, 2015 release on XL Recordings, and you can catch a quirky teaser video for it here. The clip, however entertaining, admittedly won’t give you much of an idea what the record will actually sound like, but as “Cream on Chrome” indicates, Evan Mast and Mike Stroud are back to doing what they doing best, blending rhythmic guitar lines with sleek synth riffs for a propulsive sound that blends the best of dance music and indie rock.

In addition to absorbing the album when it arrives, you can see them tackle their new tunes in the flesh this summer, when they hit major events like Primavera Sound, Governor’s Ball, Capital Hill Block Party, HARD Summer, and more.

Magnifique track list

  1. Intro
  2. Cream on Chrome
  3. Magnifique
  4. Abrasive
  5. Countach
  6. Drift
  7. Pricks Of Brightness
  8. Nightclub Amnesia
  9. Cold Fingers
  10. Supreme
  11. Rome
  12. Primetime
  13. I Will Return
  14. Outro

Jim Allen

Add a Comment