Habischman 5 Tracks of the Moment


Since presenting his now-classic Nubreed 09 double-disc two years ago on the revived Global Underground, Iranian-born house/techno producer Iman Habibi (a.k.a. Habischman) has been on a creative winning streak.

This summer has been extremely active for Habibi. Among his many feats he contributed “Skyward” to Elrow Vol. 3 on Cr2 Records and delivered a trio of bang-on remixes for Djuma Soundsystem & Out of Sorts (“Cicadian Lore”), Wally Lopez (“Sneakerhead”) and Chris Cue (“Rotation”).

Related: Read a review of Nubreed 9 – Habischman

With plenty more irons in the fire, we checked in with Habibi to see which songs are currently rocking his world.

1. Dubfire – The End To My Beginning
This track is a great example of pure electronic music: nice groove, phat drums and great moody vocals. I really like the dark lead sounds in this production — they remind me of sci-fi movies, and this one is my current favorite track.

2. Dale Howard – Tuffy (Gorge Remix)
Gorge has been one of my favorite producers for a long time. I like his groovy productions, and they are simply the best specially for deeper and groovier DJ sets. His latest remix for Dale Howard is a great example of his sound and production.


3. Oxia – Reset
I have been hammering this one lately. “Reset” by Oxia has a simple but very nice groove to it. This is one of the tunes that I enjoy playing in my sets. It’s groovy, sexy, percussive and simply defines the type of sound that I’m currently feeling. The way it goes up and down works great in the club.


4. Jansons – Picture This
This is a great tune. It has a very nice and hypnotic synth work and groove. I have been playing this a lot lately. I think Jansons is a solid producer. I put him in my top three favorite producers in my latest interview with DMC mag.

5. Blade&Beard – Aerolite
This is a dark techno tune produced by my buddies Arash and Anoush in Zurich. Their production is getting better and better. “Aerolite” is a great techno tune for my deeper sets. I’m also working on a couple of tracks for an EP with these guys!

[sg_popup id=57150]

Darren Ressler

Add a Comment