Big Shot Guest Mix 330: Jay Hill

Jay_Hill_DJ_Big Shot Guest Mix

DJ/producer Jay Hill, who in a former life was a singer-songwriter in the realm of trip-hop on the West Coast, has been walking the border of house and techno ever since she relocated to the Big Apple in 2012. Now spending time in Philadelphia, where she’s got her own studio, Hill is focusing on production and remix projects. With tracks for King Street Sounds and remixes for the likes of Allies For Everyone under her belt, her remix of Glasys’ “The Pressure” is set for release shortly out on SpinSpin NYC

Taking the lessons she’s learned opening for Adam Beyer, Ida Engberg, Shonky, Dan Ghenacia, and Kevin Yost, Hill will bring her smooth grooves to Europe this summer by way of a DJ tour that’ll touch down in Greece, the UK and Germany.

Ahead of a blockbuster summer she takes control of Big Shot Guest Mix 330, a heavenly 17-track session featuring subterranean excursions from Frankie Deep, Jordan Peak, Pete Moss, Matthias Vogt, Mr. G and Jay Tripwire’s edit of her track “Falls the Shadows.”

Below read her inspiration behind the mix, then hit the play button on her gorgeous guest mix.

“I was trying to be super cool and record an all-vinyl set. Unfortunately, for the first (perfect) recording I forgot to hit the record button! After the second go, although I dearly love all the records, I wasn’t really feeling the selections. Plus, there were many songs I wanted to spin, but didn’t have them on vinyl. So I decided to do a third take using a mixture of both vinyl and digital, which seems to work well for me.

“My turntable/DJ sensei Sid Vaga taught me to not get so hung up on the format. Just because it’s vinyl, doesn’t mean the tracks will always flow well together.

“In most all of my recent DJ sets I’m using some classic house tracks. I had a nice trip down memory lane using one of the most memorable tracks that started my eternal love affair with house music, Everything but the Girl’s ‘Five Fathoms’ (Kevin Yost Remix).”

Big Shot Guest Mix 330: Jay Hill

  1. Chasing Kurt – Daydream (Original Mix) – Variety Music
  2. Frankie Deep – Walking in the Dub – Deep Site Space
  3. Jordan Peak – Move With It (Huxley Warehouse Dub) – Klasse Recordings
  4. Pete Moss – Rain Day (The Timewriter Remix) – Recline Records
  5. Matthias Vogt – Accelerator (Original Mix) – Urban Torque
  6. A M I R – The Monologue (Original Mix) – Silence in Metropolis
  7. Pinto & Balcazar – Sumtin (Original Mix) – Nite Grooves
  8. Gorge – It’s Time (Original Mix) – Mobilee Records
  9. Everything But the Girl – Five Fathoms (Kevin Yost remix) – Rhino
  10. M Richie Gallagher – Boulevard du Midi (Original Mix) – Karunga Muusika
  11. Kiko Navarro – Right On (Raw Dub) – BBE
  12. Dan Ghenacia, Chris Carrier – The 2nd Degree (Original Mix) – Adult Only
  13. Jay Hill – Falls the Shadows (Jay Tripwire Edit) – Static Music
  14. Jelly For the Babies – Diviniation (Faktor-X Remix) – The Purr
  15. Julian Alexander – Point of View (Original Mix) – Adult Only
  16. Mr. G – Daily Prayer – Phoenix G
  17. Andre Le Funk feat. Maiya Sykes – Let It Go (Piers Kirwan Dubbed Out Remix) – Street King