AraabMUZIK Robbed, Shot, Hospitalized


Acclaimed Rhode Island-based hip-hop producer and MPC whiz AraabMUZIK (a.k.a. Abraham Orellana) was shot yesterday during an apparent robbery. The producer is currently hospitalized and his publicist stated he is “currently alive and well.” George Moore (a.k.a. DukeDaGod), AraabMUZIK’s manager, shared an image of the producer in a hospital bed (see above).

“Rumors have begun to circulate and first and foremost, we want to let everyone know that AraabMUZIK is currently alive and well,” AraabMUZIK’s team said in a statement. “He was out in his neighborhood last night with friends and unfortunately the victim of being in the wrong place at the wrong time. He is recovering now and police are investigating the crime. We appreciate all the concern and fan support and Araab is looking forward to a speedy recovery and returning to the stage as soon as he can.”

HARD Summer Lineup Announced

The fifth annual HARD Summer, taking place at downtown’s Los Angeles State Historic Park August 3-4, 2012, has announced its lineup. The two-day blowout — HARD’s first in its five-year history — include lots of big-name acts. Bloc Party, Boys Noize and Miike Snow headline Friday night (August 3) and Skrillex, Nero and The Bloody Beetroots share the top slot on Saturday night (August 4). Over 50 acts spanning a wealth of dance floor styles — a disparate list including Little Dragon, Breakbot, Araabmuzik, Joey Beltram and Nick Thayer — round out the bill. Check out the lineup below.

Friday, August 3:
Bloc Party, Boys Noize, Miike Snow (Live), Chromeo (DJ Set), Little Dragon, Magnetic Man, Erol Alkan, Bootsy Collins & The Funk Unity Band, Fake Blood, Gesaffelstein (Live), Breakbot, Buraka Som Sistema, Araabmuzik, Joey Beltram, Craze, Alex Metric, Surkin, John Talabot (DJ Set), Danny Brown, Action Bronson, Riton, Oliver, Jokers Of The Scene, Light Year, Nick Catchdubs, Jim-E Stack, Mr. Muthafuckin’ Exquire, Brenmar, Baio, Sound Pellegrino Thermal Team

Saturday, August 4:
Skrillex, Nero (Live), Bloody Beetroots (DJ Set), Squarepusher, A-Trak, James Murphy (Dj Set), Datsik, 12th Planet, Zedd, Dillon Francis, Brodinski, Claude Vonstroke, Birdy Nam Nam, Justin Martin, Gaslamp Killer, Trolley Snatcha, Destructo, Alvin Risk, Zombie Disco Squad, DJ Antention, Codes, Huoratron, Kill Frenzy, Smims & Belle, Jason Bentley, Lunice, Nick Thayer, Amtrac, The Starship Connection