Joy Division’s ‘Closer’ LP To Be Reissued on Limited-Edition Clear Vinyl


A remastered 180g clear vinyl version of Closer, the second full-length album by pioneering Manchester band Joy Division, will drop on July 17, 2020, to celebrate the acclaimed full-length’s 40th anniversary.

Originally released on clear vinyl by Factory Records on July 18, 1980, Closer is the second and final album by the famed Mancunian post-punk band consisting of Ian Curtis (guitar/vocals), Bernard Sumner (keyboards), Peter Hook (bass) and Stephen Morris (drums). The album was released two months after the suicide Curtis on May 18, 1980.

In addition to the LP release, non-album singles “Transmission,” “Atmosphere” and “Love Will Tear Us Apart” will be reissued on the same day with 2020 remastered audio.

Transmission 12”
A: Transmission
B: Novelty

Love Will Tear Us Apart 12”
A: Love Will Tear Us Apart
B: These Days

Atmosphere 12”
A: Atmosphere
B: She’s Lost Control

Closer 12”
Side A
Atrocity Exhibition
A Means To An End

Side B
Heart And Soul
Twenty Four Hours
The Eternal

No paywalls, free to all. Help us remain 100% independent and unbiased. Please give to Big Shot by making a secure one-time donation to help us continue covering DJ culture and electronic music like we’ve done since 2003.

Ian Fleming

Add a Comment