New AFX EP Coming From Richard D. James


British electronic pioneer Richard D. James has released his visionary sounds under a lot of different aliases over the years. Of course, he’s most famous for the records he’s made under the Aphex Twin moniker, but over the course of his long career he has also made music under the names Polygon Window, Caustic Window, Bradley Strider, The Tuss and AFX, among others. But AFX has been the one that’s seen the most action other than Aphex Twin. Still, it’s been about a decade since we’ve seen any action under the AFX banner. Until now that is. RDJ watchers will want to mark their calendars for August 21, because that’s the date set for the arrival of Orphaned Deejay Selek 2006-2008.

James’s longtime label, Warp Records, will release the eight-song EP on vinyl and CD, both formats coming in die-cut and spot-glossed sleeves, as well a digital version. There hasn’t been a hell of a lot of other information revealed so far, beyond the track list (which you can see below), and a single-track preview (ditto). But when it comes right down to it, really, it’s an AFX record. How much more do you really need to know about it? Oh yeah, where to get it. Here, have a pre-order link.

01. serge fenix Rendered 2
02. dmx acid test
03. oberheim blacet1b
04. bonus EMT beats
05. simple slamming b 2
06. midi pipe1c sds3time cube/klonedrm
08. r8m neotek beat

Jim Allen

Add a Comment