Hot Chip Reference ’90s Club Track on “Huarache Lights”

hot chip

After teasing fans last week with a vague 9-second promo video clip, Hot Chip — Joe Goddard, Alexis Taylor, Felix Martin, Al Doyle and Owen Clarke — have revealed that they will release their sixth album and second for Domino, Why Make Sense?, on May 19.

The UK group also dropped the album’s first single, “Huarache Lights,” a track that finds the digi-funkers in top form and referencing C’hantal’s 1990 club classic “The Realm” [“I’ve got something for your mind, body and soul…”].

The accompanying music video for “Huarache Lights” is based around a light installation by artist Robert Bell. The video, which does not feature any of the members of Hot Chip, is notable because director Andy Knowle pulled a Kiesza and filmed the clip in one take at Block 336 Gallery in Brixton.

Check out the video below and have a look at their Facebook for upcoming tour dates because I really can’t be bothered to paste ’em into this post.

Why Make Sense? tracklisting:
1. Huarache Lights
2. Love Is The Future
3. Cry For You
4. Started Right
5. White Wine and Fried Chicken
6. Dark Night
7. Easy To Get
8. Need You Now
9. So Much Further To Go
10. Why Make Sense?

Separate EP:
1. Burning up
2. Separate
3. Move With Me
4. Re-harmonize

Darren Ressler

Add a Comment