Big Shot Guest Mix: Mihai Popoviciu


Romanian DJ/producer Mihai Popoviciu began releasing music in 2005, and his reputation for issuing quality tech-house has grown with each release. On April 28 he released the Time EP on Steve Bug’s mighty Berlin/Hamburg-based Poker Flat Recordings. The title track’s bounding bassline and intoxicatingly soulful vocal sample speaks to an artist who is truly coming into his own. Hours before boarding a plane bound for New York where he’s booked to play a pair of gigs in the Big Apple, Popoviciu, who also runs Cyclic Records from his HQ in Sibiu, went into the lab and crafted a brilliant nine-track Big Shot Guest Mix. In addition to featuring “Time,” he weaves in deep, gorgeous cuts from Andrey Pushkarev, Sebo K and Angelo Mele. Sit back, relax and allow Popoviciu’s sublime mix soothe your soul.

Mihai Popoviciu’s “Time” is out now on Poker Flat Recordings. After playing Paper Box on May 3 and The Raven on May 7 in New York City, he heads to South America to spin at Bianca in Córdoba, Argentina on May 9 and Bahrein in Buenos Aires on May 10.

Big Shot Guest Mix: Mihai Popoviciu by Big Shot Magazine on Mixcloud

Big Shot Guest Mix: Mihai Popoviciu

1. Andrey Pushkarev – “First Snow” (Original Mix) (Circus Company)
2. Dactilar – “Jazz Stories” (Original Mix) (Apparel Music)
3. Mihai Popoviciu – “Paper Box” (Original Mix) (Poker Flat Recordings)
4. Sebo K – “It’s Alright” (Original Mix) (Mobilee Records)
5. Mihai Popoviciu – “Time” (Original Mix) (Poker Flat Recordings)
6. Tuccillo – “Notorium” (Gorge Remix) (Bondage Music)
7. Angelo Mele – “Many Time” (Original Mix) (Recycle Records)
8. Tapesh & Kevin Over – “NY Drive” (Original Mix) (Snatch!)
9. Luca Doobie – “Be The Rainbow” (Original Mix) (Cyclic Records)

Big Shot Guest Mix: Pacho & Pepo


Say hello to spring with a 13-track Big Shot Guest Mix from Bulgaria-based house duo Pacho & Pepo, who have been gaining notoriety for some time in Eastern Europe and beyond for their Cloning Sound brand. “It’s a record label, a weekly radio show broadcast on Ibiza Global Radio and Digitally Imported and a party showcase that is in a great demand here in Bulgaria,” they tell us. “Now we are creating a platform for cultivation of Cloning Sound abroad.”

The mix teases the release of two new Pacho & Pepo tracks, “Down the Drain” and “Noises.” Both floor burners appear on their guest mix, in addition to sizzling underground tracks by Danny Serrano, Marcelo Cura, Ruben Mandolini, Luca Lento and Snilloc, all running the musical gamut from minimal to tech-house.

“It’s our vision of what true underground electronic music should be. Our lifelong experience in DJing and music production is a good source of inspiration,” they say about their mix. “However, it often comes from the music we listen to and the artists we love. Music speaks for itself, so listen and enjoy it.”

Pacho & Pepo’s “Down the Drain” and “Noises” is released on Cloning Sound on April 14.

Big Shot Guest Mix: Pacho & Pepo by Big Shot Magazine on Mixcloud

Big Shot Guest Mix: Pacho & Pepo

1. Special Case – “Ice Twice” (Original mix)
2. Pacho & Pepo – “Down The Drain” (Original Mix)
3. Danny Serrano – “Mufasa” (Philip Bader Remix)
4. Marcelo Cura – “Basement People” (Reelow Remix)
5. Youri Donatz, Bjorn Wolf – “So I Say” (Original Mix)
6. Ruben Mandolini – “Abduction” (Original Mix)
7. Pacho & Pepo – “Noises” (Original Mix)
8. Subb-an – “This Place” (Samu.l Remix)
9. Snilloc – “800 Lesbians” (Original)
10. American DJ, &lez – “Nod”
11. Markomas – “The Groover” (Pepo Remix)
12. Luca Lento – “Poema” (Mendo Remix)
13. NTFO & Karmon – “Metropolis” (Original Mix)

Big Shot Guest Mix: Droog


We’ve sung the praises of LA’s Droog, a collective of techno upstarts that are spearheading their own movement on the West Coast. In addition to presenting kick-ass Bunker parties and Avalon parties with big-name guests like Josh Wink, the outfit also helm Culprit Recordings. The label’s first offering is from Hot Natured, a new project from Jamie Jones and L.A. resident Lee Foss (check out their h.e.a.d.s EP), and we hear there is plenty more to come. In this exclusive Big Shot Guest Mix, the lads mix up a fine sampling of new and unreleased material from their recently-launched imprint.

Big Shot Guest Mix: Droog by Big Shot Magazine on Mixcloud

Big Shot Guest Mix: Droog

1. Nivek Tsoy / “Ugly” (I Records)
with Lee Jones / “White Rabbit” (Aus)
2. Doubtingthomas / “Grind & Shine” (Metroline Ltd.)
3. Hot Natured / “Nikki Norris” (Culprit)
4. Gemini / “How Can I” (Cyclo)
5. Rhythm & Sound / “Free For All” (Droog instrumental edit of Soundstream’s remix) (Burial MIx)]
6. Dub Taylor & Jeff Samuel / “After Party Blues” (Opposum Recordings)
7. Burnski / “Species” (Poker Flat)
8. Shonky / “Jazz” (Contexterior)
9. Los Vatos / “Party Guilt” (Crosstown Rebels)
10. Matt John / “Radio Self” (Perlon)
11. Rene Breitbarth / “Sad Little Piano” (ContentIsMissing)
12. Mike Shannon / “Box is Open” (Cynosure)
13. Holger Zilske / “Mes Yeux” (Playhouse)
14. Andrade / “Gamin” (Time Has Changed)
15. The Discowboys / “To The Mountain Top” (Two Armadillos remix) (Dessous)
16. Shaun Reeves & Cesar Meirveille / “Su Sexo” (Safari Elctronique)
17. Lee Curtiss & Seth Troxler / “Slipping” (Culprit)

DJ Mix: Kitsune Maison7 Mini Mix By JBAG

kitsune-maison-7Seven is supposed to be a lucky number. Well, if that’s the case then perhaps you should check out Kitsuné Maison 7, which is out on June 9th. To celebrate the release, JBAG has crafted a special mini mix for your downloading pleasure. You’re welcome.

Tracklist for Kitsune Maison 7
1. Two Door Cinema Club / “Something Good Can Work”
2. We Have Band / “Time After Time”
3. Phoenix / “Lisztomania” (Classixx Version)
4. Crystal Fighters / “Xtatic Truth”
5. The Golden Filter / “Favourite Things”
6. La Roux / “In for the Kill” (Lifelike Remix)
7. Beni / “Fringe Element” (Short Like Me Edit)
8. Autokratz / “Always More” (Yuksek Remix)
9. 80 Kidz / “Miss Mars”
10. James Yuill / “This Sweet Love” (Prins Thomas Sneaky Edit)
11. Men / “Make It Reverse”
12. Chew Lips / “Solo”
13. Chateau Marmont / “Beagle”
14. Heartsrevolution / “薔薇と彼女の王子”
15. Delphic / “Counterpoint” (Delphic’s En Route Mix)
16. Encore
17. Maybb / “Touring In NY” (Short Tour Edit)
18. Renaissance Man / “Rhythm”
19. Tanlines / “Bejan”